Exciting News!

Hello everyone! I am so sorry for the long wait for this post, but I have some incredible news – I am engaged!!!

Engaged!

Engaged!

It was such a surprise and I am SO excited to share my own planning process with all of you! I know what everyone is waiting for, so here is my story.

Ben and Aly

My fiancé, Ben, and I met when I started working at the Wentworth Mansion in July of 2012. He had worked as a bellman at the Mansion for a year after moving to Charleston from Virginia. After a couple of months, he asked me out to see the open mic stand up at Big Gun Burger and the rest is history. We’ve been inseparable ever since!

Ben and Aly Beach

He proposed on Sunday, February 23. We had driven down to Beaufort for a couple days getaway after a long, busy stretch at work. After we checked into our hotel, we went for a walk to their beautiful waterfront park and sat on a bench swing overlooking the bay. He started talking about our relationship and how well everything has been going for us, but I still didn’t suspect a thing because he does that all the time! As he was wrapping up, he said, “So now I’m going to get down on one knee…” and I burst out with “No you aren’t!” Undaunted, he knelt in front of me and asked me to marry him. I was already crying happy tears and was totally unprepared for his next move! Out of his pocket, he pulled a diamond ring that I had had my eye on, but thought that someone else had bought from the antique store! He had bought it 5 months before and held onto it, waiting for the right time. He even had it sized perfectly! Through my joyful sobs, I said “Yes. Of course!!”

Engagement ring!

When we got back to the hotel room, the lights were dim and there was champagne on ice. It was a bottle of Vintage 1999 Dom Perignon that his best friend had given Ben for officiating his wedding! I’m sure I’m a little biased, but it was the best champagne I have ever tasted! After toasting each other, I called my mom, and what we have dubbed the “media frenzy” began! Our phones started to ring constantly with calls and texts of congratulations. We were astonished by the amazing outpouring of love and support! We spent two perfect days in Beaufort basking in the sunshine (both literally and figuratively!).

bike riding

Now, the planning process has begun! I know that no one will believe me when I say this, but I had honestly never thought about what I wanted for my own wedding. It has been overwhelming to say the least. (I’m sure I’m preaching to the choir here, but I’m totally with y’all now!!) So I hope you will all join me on my wile ride of planning and I promise to share all the best tips and tricks I find along the way. And of course I’ll keep directing you towards the best inspiration around!

 

Leave a Reply

