The First Post!

This is my year, I can just feel it! Already I’ve been so fortunate. The year started off running with my first fully coordinated wedding at the Wentworth Mansion – planned and executed in 6 days! (I kind of count only 5 days, as one was New Year’s Day!) That was my first true test, and I was so happy with the outcome. I couldn’t have done it without the amazing team of vendors – hair by Candy Herriott of Article 5 Salon, make up by Andrew C. Petersen, photography by Ellis Photo Studio, floral and rentals by Ooh! Events, DJ service by Scott Shaw Productions, ceremony music by Palmetto Strings, a beautifully decorated private carriage from Palmetto Carriage Works, cake by Bakehouse Charleston, and a perfectly served reception by the staff of Circa 1886. It couldn’t have been more beautiful! I am so excited for all the weddings I have coming up this year at the Mansion. I’m even getting my own business cards next week! It’s officially official.

With my daily schedule at the Wentworth Mansion, it’s easy for me to get stuck in the rut of the mundane. And while I’m about two weeks behind on the New Year’s Resolutions bandwagon, I figure this is definitely a case of better late than never! I’ve made this list of goals to challenge myself to break up my ordinary routine.

~ Provide current inspiration and relevant advice for brides!

I’ve heard lots of brides say that they have no idea where to start once they are engaged. I’m hoping to point out resources to get from the ring to the wedding bells! There are so many hurdles to wedding planning – picking your vendors, dress, colors, etc. I hope to also provide some advice on those tricky little things you never expected that you would need to know!

~ Expand my Pinterest horizons

On my many wedding boards on Pinterest, you will find a common theme – every pin is something I would want for my own wedding! I want to challenge myself to pin not only things I want for myself, but also things that inspire me and are absolutely gorgeous, no matter if I would use them or not!

~ Coordinate and execute a styled shoot

I love styled shoots, and I work with so many talented vendors that I want to brag about to the entire world! I also coordinate weddings in one of the most beautiful spaces in Charleston, so I might as well take advantage of it! This is one I need to jump on soon, the hotel is getting too busy to squeeze a shoot in!

~ Connect with other wedding pros

I’m a newbie in a very crowded business, so I am ready to learn! I am surrounded by some of the best professionals in the world and I want to take full advantage of that situation. Each person I have met so far has been so wonderful, I am excited to meet many more!

I also want to thank so many other bloggers out there for inspiring me. I take a good amount of time each day to pour over all the gorgeous inspiration out there and I never have time to get to it all! I especially want to thank the editor of The Lovely Find for your inspirational post about goals. I had been thinking about starting this blog and really reaching out to the wedding community for a long time, and your encouraging words tipped me over the edge. I’m taking a leaf out of your book and putting myself out there! I also need to thank my AMAZING boyfriend who was the first one to tell me I needed to start a blog. It had honestly never occurred to me until he said it! He is wonderful and his support for my crazy passion-turned-career has been unwavering.

I’m totally new to this so I hope y’all will bear with me as I learn the blogging ropes. And please leave your comments and suggestions! I would love to hear what you think and what you would like to see from me.

One thought on “The First Post!

  1. I wish you the greatest success with your new endeavors — the blog and the wedding planning. This has been a passion of yours forever. When you were 8, you wanted to know what colors I had picked for my wedding! You had definitely put more thought into it than I had. Does that mean you already have more than 15 years wedding planning experience? Love you! Your biggest fan, Kelly.

Leave a Reply

